The highest patriotism is not a blind acceptance of official policy, but a love of one’s country deep enough to call her to a higher plain.
— George McGovern

to call her to a higher plain.
(a Concerto for Violin & Awakening Orchestra in three continuous movements)

i. on the technicians of power.
ii. on the acceptance of things that we can not change.
iii. on the changing of things that we can not accept.

by Kyle Saulnier

premiered on 04.16.2015 in New York, NY:

Brooke Quiggins, violin
Kyle Saulnier (conductor)
rob mosher, vito chiavuzzo, samuel ryder, andrew gutauskas, felipe salles (reeds)
daniel urness, seneca black, nadje noordhuis, jonathan powell (trumpets)
sam burtis, matthew musselman, benjamin griffin, max seigel (trombones)
yuhan su, michael macallister, aaron kotler, joshua paris, will clark (rhythm)

program notes (by the composer):

Commissioned in 2012 by Edwin Moody, to call her to a higher plain. is a concerto over two years in the making, written for the incredible violinist Brooke Quiggins. Confronting the American condition, the piece deals with the difficulty of retaining one's optimism for the future in a time when all evidence seems to point to the contrary. It is based largely in part on sections of Alvin Toffler's 1980 book The Third Wave - in particular this excerpt.

The work was premiered at SubCulture as part of the venue's visionary New Standard series.